

N. 161028d

Friday 28.10.2016

Other Pontifical Acts

The Holy Father has:

- accepted the resignation from the office of auxiliary of the archdiocese of León, Mexico, presented by Archbishop Juan Frausto Pallares.
- appointed Rev. Fr. Rupert Graf zu Stolberg as auxiliary of the archdiocese of München und Freising (area 12,081, population 4,212,399, Catholics 1,920,302, priests 1,207, permanent deacons 316, religious 338), Germany. The bishop-elect was born in 1970 in Salzburg, Austria and was ordained a priest in 2003. He studied philosophy and theology in München and was has served in the archdiocese of München und Freising, as parish vicar, special secretary to the archdiocesan director of the clergy for the North and South pastoral regions at the personnel office of the archdiocesan Curia. He is currently episcopal vicar and canon of the metropolitan Chapter.
- appointed Rev. Fr. Socrates Mesiona, M.S.P., as vicar apostolic of Puerto Princesa (area 8,552, population 605,892, Catholics 413,116, priests 49, religious 53), Philippines. The bishop-elect was born in 1963 in Tagbilaran, Philippines, and was ordained a priest in 1989. He holds a licentiate in missiology from the Pontifical Gregorian University, Rome, and has served in a number of roles including director of the school of the Fil-Mission Seminary, parish priest, rector of the Fil-Mission Seminary in Tagaytay City, and bursar general, member of the council and subsequently superior general of the Mission Society of the Philippines. He is currently national director of the Pontifical Missionary Works. He succeeds Bishop Pedro D. Arigo, whose resignation from the pastoral care of the same apostolic vicariate was accepted by the Holy Father.
- appointed the following Members of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments: Cardinal Rainer Maria Woelki, archbishop of Köln, Germany; Cardinal John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan, archbishop of Abuja, Nigeria; Cardinal Secretary of State Pietro Parolin; Cardinal Gérald Cyprien Lacroix, archbishop of Québec, Canada; Cardinal Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo, archbishop of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso; Cardinal John Atcherley Dew, Archbishop of Wellington, New Zealand; Cardinal Ricardo Blázquez Pérez, archbishop of Valladolid, Spain; Cardinal Arlindo Gomes Furtado, bishop of Santiago de Cabo Verde, Cabo Verde; Cardinal Gianfranco Ravasi, president of the Pontifical Council for Culture; Cardinal Beniamino Stella, prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy; Archbishop Dominic Jala of Shillong, India; Archbishop-bishop

Domenico Sorrentino of Assisi Nocera Umbra Gualdo Tadino, Italy; Archbishop Denis James Hart of Melbourne, Australia; Archbishop Piero Marini, president of the Pontifical Committee for the International Eucharististic Councils; Archbishop Bernard Nicolas Aubertin of Tours, France; Archbishop Romulo G. Valles of Davao, Philippines; Archbishop Lorenzo Voltolini Esti of Portoviejo, Ecuador; Bishop Arthur Joseph Serratelli of Paterson, United States of America; Bishop Alan Stephen Hopes of East Anglia, Great Britain; Bishop Claudio Maniago of Castellaneta, Italy; Bishop Bernt Ivar Eidsvig of Oslo, Norway; Bishop Miguel Ángel D'Annibale of Rio Gallegos, Argentina; Bishop José Manuel Garcia Cordeiro of Bragança Miranda, Portugal; Bishop Charles Morerod of Lausanne, Genève et Fribourg, Switzerland; Bishop Jean Pierre Kwambamba Masi, auxiliary of Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo; Bishop Benny Mario Travas of Multan, Pakistan; and Bishop John Bosco Chang Shin Ho, auxiliary of Daegu, Korea.