

N. 220110d

Monday 10.01.2022

Informative Note on the diplomatic relations of the Holy See

There are currently 183 states that have diplomatic relations with the Holy See; in addition, there are the European Union and the Sovereign Military Order of Malta. There are 87 Embassy Chancelleries based in Rome, including those of the European Union and the Sovereign Military Order of Malta. The offices of the League of Arab States, the International Organisation for Migration and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees are also located in Rome.

During 2021, on 10 February, the Seventh Additional Agreement between the Holy See and the Republic of Austria to the Convention for the Regulation of Patrimonial Relations of 23 June 1960 was ratified, signed on 12 November 2020. On 26 November 2021, the Holy See deposited the instrument of ratification of the Global Convention on the Recognition of Qualifications concerning Higher Education, adopted by UNESCO on 25 November 2019. In addition, on 31 May, the Holy See's participation in the work of the World Health Organisation as a non-Member State Observer was formalised.